The Blogging Experience

She Said blog

A new experience and a huge learning curve for me during the week of Grand Challenges has been writing this blog. I began with a very academic approach so that the first entries I approached like an essay with some reflection added in places. Breaking through a mental barrier prohibiting me from writing in the first person was especially challenging.

I was initially hostile to the idea of writing a very short passage and in a less academic style; supposedly ‘dumbing down’ the ideas. The talk from Tim Smit finally convinced me of the necessity and power of concise and engaging prose.

His point was that a compelling narrative is one that tells you something that you already know as though you’d never heard it before. The aim is to make people feel for your message, even if it is a boring story. To make the length short the crucial point should be focused on.

Even having realised this I still find it challenging. I choose to discuss the issues I do because I find them so interesting and so I have a lot to say.  However I think the skills I have learnt through this process will help me in my future academic writing, being able to write more concisely, as well as in any future creative writing.

I think I would like to blog in the future, as it is an effective way of getting an environmental message across to non-academic audience.
I think I would like to blog in the future, as it is an effective way of getting an environmental message across to non-academic audience.

Some blogging tips I’ve found useful

https://blog.bufferapp.com/blogging-advice-for-beginners-from-16-experts


An example of a successful environmental blog to take tips or inspiration from in the future

http://www.theguardian.com/environment/blog


Leave a Reply

